LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FPGA - MyRio Coding Sanity Check

Thank you for taking the time to consider my question in advance. I am midly familiar with labview programming; however, this is my first attempt at an FPGA program. I am hoping someone can give me insight to see if this approach is sane or if anyone has some solid examples I haven't come across yet.

I am currently using the MyRio-1900 device (http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/376047a.pdf). I am making use of the MSP Side C connector, due to simplicity. The overall goal of my code is to produce a sinusoidal analog output waveform (up to 6kHz in frequency) that will drive a speaker. The speaker produces the sinusoidal signal and that sound is then captured by a microphone, which relays the information back to the MyRio device. Both the generated signal and captured signal are then displayed on a plot. From this information I plan on investigating time delays and RMS Voltages.

Due to the high sampling rate needed (at least 50kS/s) and my code "running late" when using the megahertz clock on the MyRio device in a timed looop (non-FPGA), I believe I need to program information at the FPGA level. I watched the videos located at: http://www.ni.com/tutorial/14532/en/ . However, I am still running into some issues. I've attached two .png files that showcase my code thus far. I am not sure if I need to work on a FIFO approach, or if what I currently has is sufficient.

I have also tried to run the read/write on the FPGA in different while loops in parallel. I've also tried setting the timing for the event, which would help with the dt on the build waveform function. However, I can't seem to get a reasonable dt value for my build waveform function. I am not sure if it runs off the 40MHz clock speed or on the actual time I am telling it to run. I would greatly appreciate if anyone could double check my code sanity or if someone has a solid example I have failed to find.