LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extracting a variable from inside a case structure

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi! I am fairly new to the wonderful world of Labview. I started with watching most of the tutorials here and figured out some basics. However, I simply don't know how to solve my latest problem:

outgassing_help.PNG

This VI is reading pressure values from two different instruments (labeled TPG and DPG). The first one (TPG) is only read, the value from DPG is used to control the status of a vent within the vacuum system. The idea is, that the vent opens if the pressure get's too high (P>P_max): If that's the case the lower case structure is 'true' and the 'open vent' command is send ('[...]switchbox on'). The 'false' case is empty, so the vent stays open until the pressure get's too low (the upper case selection): if P<P_min the upper case is 'true' and the close command is send. Since the pressure rises due to outgassing of the vacuum tank this cycles repeats itself forever.

That's the part that works!

However: I want to get the time it takes from the 'close vent' command until the 'open vent' command (so from the lower case structure becoming 'true' until the upper structure is 'true') and want to log the elapsed time in a file. The problem is twofold:

1) Both 'true' cases are 'true' for more than one tick. it usually takes like 4-5 ticks until the open/closed vent leads to a pressure change which makes the condition 'false' again, so I get 4-5 timestamps each time one of the case structures is 'true'. What I would actually need is the equivalent of a 'latch when pressed' to initialize the timestamps so I only get one timestamp for the 'close' and one for the 'open' command for each cycle. This is also true for the command to close/open the vent: it really only needs to be sent ocne, not 4-5 times in a row, although it doesn't hurt the system.