LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Excel 2013 ActiveX object unavailable

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm trying to open an Excel ActiveX reference but can't. I'm using LabVIEW 2012 and Excel 2013.

I've placed an Automation Open VI on the block diagram and created a control at the refnum input. When I click Select ActiveX Class on the control (see below), the only Excel-related option available is the ExcelTDM plugin I use for viewing TDMS files in Excel. I'm relatively new to ActiveX so I'm not sure what's wrong here. Are there any know compatibility issues with Office 2013 and LabVIEW? Or is the approach flawed?

Excel ActiveX.PNG

P.S.. I can use examples I download and can open Excel, but none of the invoke nodes property nodes can be modified:

Excel ActiveX 1.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(6,759 Views)

Have you tried using LabVIEW 2013?

I would suspect that since LabVIEW 2012 came out BEFORE Excel 2013, that they aren't compatible.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(6,731 Views)

"LabVIEW 2012 came out BEFORE Excel 2013"

Our default version in work is 2012 so I'm stuck with that. But I HAVE tried LabVIEW 2013 too, and the same issue exists.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(6,725 Views)

@InTest wrote:

"LabVIEW 2012 came out BEFORE Excel 2013"

Our default version in work is 2012 so I'm stuck with that. But I HAVE tried LabVIEW 2013 too, and the same issue exists.

A VI would be helpful.

All I see is a front panel and a fuzzy JPG.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 14
(6,712 Views)

I didn't include a VI because I can't select the ActiveX class/Excel application, so any VI I include would just be an Automation Refnum control on the front panel - this is the crux of the issue. The second screenshot (apologies if it's fuzzy but it looks fine on my screen) is supposed to illustrate how I can open and run downloaded VI's (but can't select any other methods because the Excel ActiveX object is not available to me).