LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Event structures in older versions of labview?

Solved!
Go to solution
Solution
Accepted by Newton2this1

@GerdW wrote:

What about the 50$ Home edition of LabVIEW (2014?) available in the US?

That's good, but if you are a student LabVIEW is free for 6 months, and an NI employee (Sammy) said you can ask for extensions for as long as you are a student.

https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-30610

https://decibel.ni.com/content/message/52954

Message 11 of 18
(1,562 Views)
Unfortunately, I am not a student.
0 Kudos
Message 12 of 18
(1,535 Views)
You said you were using the 6i student version. You don't legally have the right to use that, then. If you are working for some commercial outfit, you don't have the right to use the home version either. Maybe you need to find a more ethical employer.
0 Kudos
Message 13 of 18
(1,521 Views)
I WAS a student when I acquired my copy of LV 6i. I am currently unemployed also. Thx.
0 Kudos
Message 14 of 18
(1,508 Views)

Still, if you currently is not a student, then you are not allowed to use the student version. 

Be side that, you are lucky if LabVIEW 6i runs on windows 7, more than lucky if it runs on Windows 8. 

0 Kudos
Message 15 of 18
(1,434 Views)

@dkfire wrote:

Still, if you currently is not a student, then you are not allowed to use the student version. 

I'm not so sure this is true, can you link to a post by an NI employee stating this?  Today you can get 6 months free student license (if you are a student) for as long as you are a student.  If that's the case then why does NI also sell a student edition for $20?  Because the free version of student is only legit while you are a student.  But I suspect that the $20 student edition is so you can own your own license which never expires.