LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EthernetIP Help Please

Hello list,

I’m not new to Labview programming but I am new to using it with a PLC.  I have an Allen Bradley CompactLogix L24ER, and I have purchased the Ethernet/IP toolkit here ->http://sine.ni.com/nips/cds/view/p/lang/en/nid/209676

Since the Help is so sparse, there are almost no examples, and I have been told by NI Tech Support that this product is not supported by them but NI R&D instead(?), I am turning to the community for help (where I probably should have gone first anyway.)

It is my understanding that this package will read & write “Controller Tags” and not “Program Tags”.  I have modified one of the example VI’s to just send & receive Booleans. It is attached.  Using it, I am attempting to read and write individual bits of the “Local:1:O.Data” register, by reading or writing to the Tag Name “Local:1:O.Data.x, where “x” represents the bit I want to read or write. 

So I have several questions.

1. Since the “EthernetIP Tag Write.VI”, when set to “BOOL” expects an array of Booleans, is it even possible to write and read a single bit of the PLC? I know that things like “Panelview” products will read and write to individual bits, so if this is the case, is it a limitation of these VIs that will allow them to only read and write arrays of 16 bits?

1. The value of the “BOOL tag” in the control is the same as the Tag Name in the “Controller Tags” of the PLC, but, from the error I’m getting, it looks like I’ve got the name formatted wrong or something wrong with the syntax.

At the suggestion of someone in NI Tech Support, I have been successful setting the VIs in my example to “INT” and reading “Local:1:O.Data”, but I am unable to write to it, so I know that my communications is working somewhat.  But I would really like to read and write to individual bits if that is possible.