From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error -2147418113 while initialize CI 4500Ls AC Power Source

I've been trying to get LabVIEW to work with CI 4500Ls. I installed the driver, and tried to run it. I got error -2147418113 "Catastrophic failure" while initializing. Does anyone have any idea what's going on?

I've googled, and got different answers for different situations, so I'm really confused. I'm relatively new to LabVIEW.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,898 Views)
What sort of physical connection?

As you saw from the NI driver page, it is not supported. Have you tried the ametek support?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,885 Views)

I use RS232 cable connected to a serial to USB converter.

The driver was downloaded from Ametek website.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(2,878 Views)
Is the com port visible in MAX? I don't think I've ever seen a catastrophic failure but I would suspect the Windows driver for the converter. At what point do you get the error? Can you communicate with MAX or program such as putty?

I know where you got the driver. That is why I suggested contacting ametek
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(2,873 Views)

I tried the USB port on the CI, but still got the same error.

I don't know what MAX is. I tried PuTTy, but it doesn't seem to have any response.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 8
(2,862 Views)
What is CI?

MAX is Measurement and Automation Explorer. It is on your desktop and it is a utility program installed with NI hardware drivers such as NI-VISA. If the serial converter is correctly installed, you will see a com port listed under Hardware.