cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

End of File Encountered

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am a novice to LabView. I tried to create a simple LabVIEW program to read data from saved file (see the attachment). But faced a problem with resting pointer. I want to resetting pointer to the beginning of the file. How should I do this or close file after every cycle? Can somebody help me to modify my coding.

Thanks for your help on this 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(9,588 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author lipwe

You are uisng express VIs, so the file gets opened, read and closed with every iteration of the loop. You are reading the same file over and over as fast as the computer allows, probably thousands of time per second. 😮

Since you are reading segments, you can check the EOF output and wire it to the "reset" input via a shift register so it resets whrenever it has reached the end of the file.

What is the purpose of your program?

Can you be more specific what you want to do?

Message 2 of 9
(9,577 Views)

Hi Altenbach,

This VI is created with data acquisition VI(see the attachment) as a part of my training. I collect data from my acquisition VI. Then I need to read those acquired file and multiply every value by a multiplication factor. So problem is when I put while loop around entire coding, I got an error message saying that End of File encounter. So I search the forum to see the problem. I did what you suggested. It wok

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(9,558 Views)

Why don't you just read the entire file at once?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(9,535 Views)

I don't know how to do that 

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 9
(9,488 Views)

lipwe,