From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dynamically change number of user prompt

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear All,

I was wondering whether we can do something more dynamic in Labview. I am quite new to LV, working on a project. My task is to make a test setup which will grow dynamically upon user request. whole scenario can be explained here.

prompt user.jpg
Get input from user 'how many cycles do you want'?, upon user input number of prompt user dialogue boxes will grow. Let's say user enter 4, then 4 prompt user dialogue boxes should be opened one by one (which further contains 4-5 inputs), Each with different values (Which will further be used in another program).
I know use prompt user (And further making it typedef if needed). But don't know how we can expand or reduce number of dialogue boxes upon user request.

I hope you'll understand the problem.

It would be really appreciated if you could suggest or help me with this.

Thanks

Khan.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,625 Views)

Hi Khan,

open the LabVIEW options as an example!

It's made of a listbox and a subpanel container. Each time you select an option topic a different VI is presented in this subpanel container…

(When you do the same "in each cycle" you should think about using arrays!)

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,611 Views)

Are these cycles supposed to run in parallel or in series?  If in series, the just use a FOR loop (set N to the number of cycles) and use an autoindexing output tunnel with your configurations for each cycle to store them in an array.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions