LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Display a message to a user in a while loop

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello.  I have been using Labview for about 4 days and I will preface this by saying that this is for a homework problem, so I am not looking for an exact solution just someone to point me in the right direction.  I need to display a message to a user.  The problem is that since it is inside a while loop, when the condition is met for the notification to display, it just keeps coming back up and never lets the user change the values to correct the problem.  It should be pretty apparent what the vi is supposed to do by looking at it, and everything else works fine, until I put the message into it.  As an aside, I know that there are probably much better ways to accomplish the tasks that I set out to do for this, but like I said, I am completely new to LabView, so I apologize to the more elegant programmers out there for my brute-force programming!  I have searched the forums and found a couple of things regarding case statements and shift registers, but I have no idea how to use them.  I have been working on this part of the problem for hours now and am getting nowhere, so any help will be really appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,652 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author christopherbrown0317

Welcome to the Forums!

First, thank you for pointing out that this is a homework problem. We do mind helping people learn LabVIEW but do object when someone tries to get his homework done for him.

Case statements and shift registers are probably what you need to learn next. Specifically, a state machine is probably well suited for this kind of program. I think your version of LV came with a templat or Design Pattern for a state machine. Look under the File menu >> New.. (Not New VI) and see if you can find a state machine template.

Other comments: