LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Determine motor speed/position using three channel encoder

Hi,

I'm a mechanical engineering student with very little LabVIEW experience. I am trying to control two brushless DC motors, analysing speed and relative position of the two shafts using LabVIEW (7.1) and a SCB-68 DAQ.
The motors are maxon brushless motors with three channel (A,B and I) encoders. I am using maxon LSC 30/2 controllers for speed control.

What I need to do is process the incoming encoder pulses and convert them to a shaft position that will allow me to calculate the relative angular displacement between the shafts. I think it is possible to do this using the DAQmx count express vi, but this seems to only be possible for one motor? There doesn't appear to be enough connectors on the DAQ to connect two motors using this method.

Is there a sample vi that carries out this task by taking the  encoder signals as analog inputs?

Thanks,

Nick Pierce
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,903 Views)

The SCB-68 is actually just a connector block. The data acquisition card would have a model number like PCI-6220 or PCI-6040E. You can give us the actual model number of the card by looking in the Measurement and Automation Explorer under 'My System>Devices and Interfaces>NI-DAQmx Devices'.

It sounds like you have a Multifunction DAQ card. These only have two counters.

As far as I know, there are no examples of using analog inputs to do precise counting. It certainly could be done, but it would be a lot of coding and the accuracy of the results would not be as precise as using counters. You might want to look at some of the "Point by Point" VIs. There's a Zero crossing and a Boolean Crossing VI that may give pretty good results.