LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Designing a LabView application for complex telemetry monitoring

Hello all,
I am in the initial stages of designing an automated test system for which I plan to use LabView and probably TestStand. (I'm just getting started with LabView, having run some demo code and tutorials.) My application has a few interesting characteristics, and I'd like some suggestions on the most effective way to structure the LabView application.

Background:

The test system is intended to test an electronic instrument that collects a large number of different physical measurements and reports them to a master controller in a binary telemetry stream through a specialized high-speed serial interface. The test system will include programmable power supplies and custom digital interfaces to talk to the unit under test.  The test system will also need to display and archive the instrument data, issue instrument commands, and execute scripted sequences of test operations; that's the easy part. (Assume a mid-range VXI chassis and controller to run the show.)

Where things get interesting is in interpreting the instrument's rather complex binary data stream (which is a fixed project requirement for the purposes of my test system). The instrument reports a hundred or so different data items at various repetition rates, and reports this data to the test system as binary data packets some tens of times per second. Different packets will contain different sets of data items, identified by keying information within each packet and by a predefined "data dictionary" that describes the format of each telemetry item.