LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Design a VI for giving a warning signal followed by a go signal for a Simple Reaction time task

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I need to perform simple reaction time test trials for one of my experiments, I need to design a Lab view program to acheive the following experimental design:

1. Pre trial interval of 2 s ------followed by------------- A yellow (LED) WARNING SIGNAL(which stays lit for about 80 ms)

2. After offset of warning light------------a random interval of 1-3 seconds-----------A green (LED) GO SIGNAL (which stays lit for about 80 ms).

3.  Back to step 1.

I want this loop to go around for a multiple reaction time trials.

I am new to lab view, but after reading tutorials I have designed a VI, but there are a few issues with this VI:

1. If I run it, the yellow and green lights just flicker and do not turn on and off alternatively, the way I want.

2. If I run the VI with highlight execution window checked, the program does run, and the yellow and green lights do light up alternatively. However the interval between yellow and green light does not appear to be random between 1-3 s..

I am attaching the VI I have designed, I will be gratefull if somebody can help.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 32
(3,015 Views)

docas,

You need to look at the documenation for "Elapsed Time" express VI.  It does *NOT* wait the amount of elapsed time, but executes immediately taking mere miliseconds.  You need to test to see if the elapsed time is true in a loop and then exit the loop.  The loop should also have a "wait" in it so you don't spend all your CPU time repeatedly checking the time.

So to summarize, the elapsed time VI does not wait for the elapsed time but tells you if the elapsed time has expired.

LabVIEW ChampionLabVIEW Channel Wires

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 32
(2,997 Views)