cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delay between two operations within the same visa write buffer

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi

I am new to labview and have been trying to figure out a way to introduce a few milliseconds delay between two operations within the same write buffer of a single visa write block. Following is what I want it to be like:

CURR: LEV 1.5

wait for some 50 ms

CURR: LEV 2.0

wait again

Actually I have to apply an AC signal to a coil with a certain frequency through an Agilent e3631a power supply source. So if there's an another alternative to it, then please let me know.

Thanks

Regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,118 Views)

Hi Sitank,

use a loop with a wait statement to output those commands with a certain delay…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 13
(4,112 Views)
Gerd is correct. You do NOT use a single buffer or a single write.
Message 3 of 13
(4,103 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Sitank

Here's two approaches. First being the simplest, just put a time delay between VISA writes. The second being a more robust because it allows you to build a series of commands by simply adding them to the string array. You could forget the case in the loop if you do not mind the 50mS delay before th first command is sent.

Vdelay.PNG

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
Message 4 of 13
(4,091 Views)
Skip the case statement and place the delay after the write.
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 13
(4,083 Views)

Hey, hi again

Thanks for the help last time, but this time am facing a little bit of problem in storing the read buffer's values in an array. I would be getting values of current which I need to store, so that later I can plot them with time.

Have tried the shift registers but couldn't get it done.