From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data from Picoammeter to PC via RS232-USB cable

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner of learning labview. I am trying to read current values from Keithley Picoammeter 6485 to my PC via RS232(6485)-USB(PC) cable, and then use labview to process and save the data. I have known how to process the data with labview; but I do not know how to obtain the data from 6485 to my PC via RS232(6485)-USB(PC). Could anyone give me some advice? Do I need some extra hardware besides the cable? Thanks!

Message 1 of 18
(7,452 Views)

Taking a quick look at the manual for the Keithley 6485, I read these sections:

The Model 6485/6487 supports two built-in remote interfaces: GPIB interface and RS-232 interface. You can use only one interface at a time. At the factory, the GPIB is selected. To select the interface, press COMM, select RS 232 or GPIB, then press ENTER. The Model 6485/6487 will reset with the new interface selected.

To configure the RS-232 interface, press CONFIG then COMM when the RS-232 interface is selected, then set baud rate, data bits, parity, terminator, and flow control. To assure proper operation, be sure that interface parameters are the same as those used by the controlling computer.

With the power off, connect the Model 6485/6487 RS-232 connector (Figure 7-1 or Figure 7-2) to the computer serial port using a straight through shielded RS-232 cable terminated with DB-9 connectors (Keithley Model 7009). Do not use a null modem cable.

So initially, a few key points.

• Did you set the mode to RS232?
  • Do you know the parameters the device has configured? These should be used with the VISA Configure Serial Port node in LabVIEW