LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Input Into Labview from Excel in real-time

Hello,
  I am trying to send data from one program into excel, and from excel into labview, where I will make real-time calculations on this data. I am pretty new to labVIEW, so I am not sure where to start; I think the right direction is ActiveX controls but Im honestly not sure. Perhaps it would be easier to perform the calculations in excel, and import these into Labview?
 The important thing to accomplish is to have labview read the data from excel in real-time. Can anyone tell me how to do this or show me some useful tutorials?

Thank you for your time.
            David
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(4,588 Views)
Hello David,
     ActiveX is probably the tool that you want to use.  Here is a great starting point for learning more:
Integrating Microsoft Excel with National Instruments Software
I also recommend that you take a look at the Excel shipping examples through Example Finder in LabVIEW (Help>>Find Examples>>Search>>search for "Excel").  The more information that you can provide about your application, the better we can help you find resources to help you, so please tell us more.

Cheers,

NathanT
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 22
(4,567 Views)
Alright,
 I have a PowerLab 4/25 EMG device designed to take electromyography signals from human muscles for data acquisition. The device has an advanced filter and amplifier. The program supplied with the hardware is called "Chart 5", also by AD instruments. My goal is to be able to not only view the signals (which is currently possible in chart 5) but to activate a second device when the signals being read dip below a certain threshold. This is where I feel Labview can be helpful; in comparing the signals with the threshold values and taking the appropriate action at the desired time.