LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DB Tools Parser

Solved!
Go to solution

I am just getting started with databases.  I am trying to use the "DB Tools Insert Data.vi".  I put my data into a cluster, and pass the cluster into the VI.  When the data comes out of "DB Tools Parser.vi" the parameter names are missing.  What am I doing wrong?

Jim

LV 2020
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,681 Views)

I haven't looked at the code now, but as far as I know, the names in the cluster don't actually matter - the values are inserted into the columns named in the columns input, in the tabbing order of the controls in the cluster.

(3,672 Views)

Is there any way to look at the SQL query that gets passed to the execute query VI.  Is there a way to convert the command reference that it gets back into text?  The error message that I am getting is "Syntax error in query.  Incomplete query clause."  The query that is coming out of the build insert query VI (blue arrow in this picture) is:

"insert into "Test Data"("Test Stand","Product","Serial Number","Temperature","Supply Pressure","Running Pressure","GPF","Timing","Result","HP GPF") values (?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?)"

When I watch "Cmd Create Parameters.vi", it looks like it is putting the corect parameter values into the property node.

Jim

LV 2020
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,654 Views)

I don't think there is a way to convert the query, but I'm not really familiar with the ADO API. Personally, I don't really like spaces in things which need to be parsed, because they can be a pain, so I would suspect something there. I would suggest a search of the error text to see what other people ran into. If not, you can always build the full SQL insert command yourself. You can also use VIs like the OpenG variant VIs or the variant VIs in vi.lib to create an API which accepts a cluster, just like the NI VI does.

(3,638 Views)

I tried using: