cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQMx NI PCI-MIO-16E-1 for BPSK/QPSK Laser Comms Testing

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am completely new to LabView and am trying to write a program that will create a BPSK/QPSK or QAM signal for me to create using my department's DAQMx Board (NI PCI-MIO-16E-1). I do not have the modulation toolkit and therefore need to do this from scratch (I'm guessing).

My main question is whether it would be possible for me to create my desired signal in MATLAB - since I'm actually comfortable programming with this language - and then move my signal into LabView for it to be pushed out as a real voltage signal using the DAQ boar.

Either way, what would be the quickest way for me to create these signals if I do not have the Modulation Toolkit I'm seeing throughout the NI website?

As things are, I've already managed to output some built-in waveforms(sine, triangle, etc.) using the available functions in LabView. However, if I try to make a sine wave using MATLAB code

(e.g. x = 0: pi / 24:2 *pi ;    y = sin(x); ) where I take y as the output of my Mathworks box and connect it to the 'Build Waveform' block whose output goes to the DAQ assistant, I get errors about my MATLAB code not executing.

Ultimately, what I would like to do is create the signal to drive a PCB I have to modulate a laser diode and then capture it again at the output of a photodiode.

Thanks for your help!

Spyros

Message Edited by sp306 on 05-25-2010 12:00 PM
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,225 Views)

Hi Spyros,

Would you be able to post your code so we can take a look at why the code is producing errors?

Regards,

Jas.W 

Jason W.
Applications Engineer
National Instruments UK & Ireland
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,195 Views)

Hello,