LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQ accelerometer: high sample rate and high number of samples

Hi everyone,

I have a self-designed burnishing tool, to which a piezoelectric module is attached. That module is excited by an external source, being the theoretical resonance frequency 40 kHz. I would like to instrumentalize the tool to see if, in effect, that is the working frequency, and to assess how it changes when the tool is working makes contact with a certain material.

From now on, I warn you, you nay notice that I am a mechanical engineer (I might say something stupid).

For that instrumentalization I have chosen a NI 9223 module, connected to my PC through a cDAQ 9171. A 352C03 accelerometer from Piezoelectronics is the selected sensor (technical satasheet attached). Hardware seems to work fine.

Now, I made a very simple programme to visualize data as I acquire it, and save it to a file. I record directly the voltage readings of the accelerometer, as all I want to know afterwards is the frequency of the signal (amplitude is not important).

I choose a sampling frequency of 80000Hz (two times 40kHz, according to Nyquist), and 500000 samples. Why that number of samples? Because for greater numbers I have a problem with the buffer and data acquisition, and get an error. BUT I am not happy with this number of samples, because that allows me to acquire data for just 6.25 seconds. I would like to monitor the first 10 seconds, at least.

So, my great doubt is how can I increase the number of samples to succeed in monitoring the first at least 12 seconds of the experiment? 

Then comes the great doubt, whether I am right in this strategy, or whether there is something missing in my reasoning. Of course I welcome general improvements in the program itself.

I attach the technical datasheet of the accelerometer, and the program I did as well. 

Thank you all!!

Ramón

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,134 Views)