LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create a time trial program to compare the average execution times of the formula node and the native labview functions

I am new to Labview and am trying to work through some of the problems in my book.  The following has me completely confused.  I don't even know where to start. Please help

Create a time trial program to compare the average execution times of the “Formula Node” and the native LabVIEW Math Function. This program will require a For Loop, a Flat Sequence Structure, and a Case Structure. The For Loop is required to run the time trial N times and then the results can be averaged using the “Statistics” function in the Probability $ Statistics sub-palette. The Sequence Structure is required to sample the “Tick Count” before and after the code executes. The Case Structure is required to determine whether the user would like to execute the Formula Node or the native LabVIEW Math Functions. To test the timing, using the following formulas:

a = X 2 / 4;

b=(2× X)+ 1;

Y=sin(a b);

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(4,675 Views)

Homework, obviously. Well, with any homework problem, where do you start? You start with what's being asked. What's being asked? To time the execution time of a VI. How do you do that? Well, there are several ways. The suggested method in the homework question is to use a sequence structure. Why? Well, how do you calculate execution time? You get a time stamp at the start, do the action, and get a time stamp at the end. Subtract. So, create a VI that does that. The middle frame is where you place the code that you're supposed to run. What's the code that you're supposed to run? A calculation. What calculation? Well, you're supposed to calculate "a" and "b" and then "Y". "X" is an input. So what do you need? An input control for "X" and an output indicator for "Y".

Do that, and get back to us.

We will not do your homework for you.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(4,664 Views)