LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create .NET DataSet

Hello All,

I'm a total newbie to .NET and .NET through LabVIEW.  I am attempting to insert some firmware revision data into an SQL database through a .NET web service.  I have created a .NET assembly dll and invoked the node for the function that I want, UpdateRevision().  This function has the following input format:

<UpdateRevision xmlns="http://tempuri.org/">
      <modelnum>string</modelnum>
      <serialnum>string</serialnum>
      <objDS>
        <xsd:schema>schema</xsd:schema>xml</objDS>
      <user>string</user>
    </UpdateRevision>

The XML portion, objDS, should be a table consisting of the 4 column names that I want to store and the data that I want to insert, arranged like this:

MICRO   CPLD   DSP1   DSP2
1.1          2.2        3.3        4.4

I have what I think is working correctly for everything except the XML table, I can't for the life of me figure out how to create this table in the format the the format the .NET assembly wants (XML I think).

I have played around using the "to .NET object.vi" with a "flattten to XML.vi" in front with a table control as an input with no success.  I know this cant be too difficult, I'm just inexperienced to find the answer.  Can anyone throw me a bone?

Thanks,
Adam
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,906 Views)
I've been trying to learn up on this, but I'm still falling a little short.  I think that the line:

<objDS>
        <xsd:schema>schema</xsd:schema>xml</objDS>

is looking for an XML schema (XSD) and the xml.  So in other words, it wants me to tell it how to parse the data, then provide the data to parse.  I was given this description by the guy who provided me the web service:

"you'll need to pass the modelnum, and serialnum as strings, followed by a dataset that contains 4 columns titled micro, cpld, dsp1, dsp2, and then finally another string field containing the username"