LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling relay board via printer cable

Hello all,
Please bear with me as I am an absolute beginner with LabVIEW, but want to learn.
My boss has asked me to try and write a program to control a PC relay driver board, which is here: http://www.quasarelectronics.com/3074.htm
According to the user manual "you can write your own programs in any language to output a byte to the printer port and the bits which are high will turn on the corresponding relay. The overlay on the PCB shows which bit in the output byte turns that particular relay on. For example, output 00010001, or 11 in hex turns on relays 1 & 5. Each relay number is also marked on the overlay for easy reference." Do I need a printer driver, do I need a DLL?
Could anybody show me where I should start, or lead me through some way? To me the problem sounds like it might be relatively easy, but too much for me

any help would be greatly appreciated
thanks,
Gwilym
LabVIEW 7.1 unfortunately
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(3,483 Views)

This is quite easy actually.  I've done this type of relay control in the past... works well..

Do I need a printer driver, do I need a DLL?

No.  All you need is your PC and the Labview Development System.  You may have to change some settings in the PC's BIOS.  I'll look for the post I wrote on this.

Could anybody show me where I should start, or lead me through some way?

Yes.  Open LabVIEW

Under the Help menu, select >Find Examples

Do a search on "Parallel Port"  There are two examples that will be useful.  You will need to set the addres of your port, which you can find in the Control Panel > System >  Hardware Tab > Device Manager

Look under COM & LPT Port, and open the properties for the LPT port.  The resource address should be there.  Mine is : 0378

Follow the instructions in the example.  You can experiment a little and wtach how it controls the relays.