LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling Stepper Motor

Hi All.

I am pretty new to Labview, and am looking for some advice in controlling a set of two stepper motors.  I have some experience with controlling stepper motors, but previously I used Matlab to create a binary script that was read into Labview to create a motion that I desired for the two motors.  Now I am hoping to control the motors using coordinates read in from another system (not an encoder, but a completely different system).  I basically just want the motors to follow the X and Y coordinates as they are read into Labview from the other system.  Any ideas are appreciated.

Thanks!

Jacob

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,958 Views)

Well I would say step one would be to first figure out how to interface w/ the motors/motor controllers from LabVIEW i.e. a LabVIEW "driver" either that already exists depending on the manufacturer or that you may have to create

I saw my father do some work on a car once as a kid and I asked him "How did you know how to do that?" He responded "I didn't, I had to figure it out."
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,931 Views)

I already have a Labview driver to interface with the motors.  I use the digital outputs on the DAQ to control the motors: one pair to tell them to step or not, and another pair to change direction or not.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,904 Views)

By LabVIEW driver I'm ssuming you mean the DAQ drivers and I'm also assuming since you're using a DAQ to control the motors you don't have an actual motor controller which means you will have to write the code to perform the function of a physical motor controller.

Since it sounds like you're starting with a pretty low-level interface, I would say the next step is to write a wrapper that lets you input a) Step Direction and b) No of Steps to make in the direction