LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Continuously reading serial data in a loop

Hi all, 

Forgive me I'm a noob, trying to make my way here.

I have a sound level meter that I am interrogating over serial to make up a little measurement system.

I have a series of serial commands I want to make, and so far I've been using a flat sequence to do so, one after the other:

*RST = reset the meter

INIT START = Start measurement cycle

MEAS:START = start the measurment required

MEASure:TIMEr? = get the amount of time ran for, when enough, move on

INIT STOP = stop the measurment. 

The issue I am having is the cblock where I need to continuously interrogate for the time to stop it when it gets to the correct level. At the moment I have it in a for loop, and it is measuring until it hits a level specified by a constant on a greater than. This is supposed to trigger a boolean to stop the larger loop.

The problem I am having is that while my for loop is iterating, it doesnt' seem to be continuously reading in the data for time. I need help making it continuopusly read...

Any help would be greatly appreciated, VI attached.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,942 Views)

What you describe is a State Machine, code that runs and does different things depending on what "State" (RST, INIT START, etc.) it is in.  If you go to LabVIEW Help and look for State Machine, you'll see that there is a Sample Project called Simple State Machine.  This should give you some very helpful ideas to help accomplish your task. 

BS

Message 2 of 9
(3,932 Views)

Thanks Bob, I'm looking into state machines as a concept. They look fairly complex compared to what  I have now potentially. Will they allow me to loop a read on serial?

Thanks for the help so far!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,918 Views)