From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Continuous acquisition of two LVDT sensors

Solved!
Go to solution

I am trying to construct a program to monitor two LVDT sensors inside a machining table to measure vibrations. I would like to be able to acquire as close to continous as possible. I am looking for small delays because the plan is to have some feedback mechanism later on and this would require very quick reaction. 

I have some experience with labview but am quite new to using queue structures. I am having difficulty dequeueing the data in a type that I can work with. How could I dequeue my waveform data and use it to perform calculations on its frequency and amplitude? 

And as an aside, am I implementing the queue correctly? or does anyone have recommendations to my vi layout and architecture?

Thank you very much for your help.

I am using labview 8, but I have access on other computers to labview 9.

-Arthur J.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,776 Views)

Arthur,

You are not using the queue quite correctly.  You need to tell the queue what kind of data it will contain.  You do this by wiring the 'Element Data Type' node on the Obtain Queue block with the type of data you wish to enqueue; if you don't do this, then the queue uses a Variant, and you will have to use the Variant to Data function to properly decode the data (and To Variant to get the data into the queue in the right format).  

On another note, since you are relatively new to this - consider using a state machine in your upper loop instead of that flat sequence structure - this will reduce that code bloat that you have going on.  Other than that, looks great!

Peace, Matt

Message 2 of 5
(2,768 Views)