From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configuring two of the same model of DAQ

Solved!
Go to solution

Good morning, NI community.

I am a mechanical engineering intern who has basic experience with LabVIEW.

I would speak to NI directly about this question, but I do not have a service contract and my company wants me to figure this out before purchasing LabVIEW.

I am hoping someone has experience regarding my question, and I would greatly appreciate the help.

We were intending on purchasing an expansion board for our DAQ (OMB-USB-2416), but unfortunately it is on back order and would not arrive in time.

So, I need LabVIEW to read AI voltage from two of the same model of DAQ, which would total to about 30 channels.

Is this possible with LabVIEW?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,948 Views)

As long as the boards are configured as different device names, you shouldn't have any problems communicating with multiple boards.  I do it all the time.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 9
(2,939 Views)

Thanks for the reply, crossrulz. And I like your The Cheat avatar!

So I'll have the boards configured as different device names using their software, but how exactly will I go about setting up the block diagram in LabVIEW?

I have the ULx driver installed and have built vi's using the one DAQ board we have already, but there is no terminal on the subvi to select different devices.