From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Compact DAQ to XY Chart w/ Dual Y-Axis

Hello, I need a bit of help and maybe a bit of a sanity check at this point. I'm VERY new to LabVIEW and am feeling a tad lost.

At work we are attempting to replace our horribly unreliable flat-bed paper chart recorders with a LabView setup. When I say we, I mean I alone was tasked with coming up a replacement which will be used by my labmates. These are used for detecting and recording fractions as they come off a column.

The acquisition hardware is:

1) National Instruments cDAQ-9171

2) National Instruments 9205

The devices we are interfacing with are:

1) Bio-Rad Econo EM1 UV monitor

2) Gilson FC203B Fraction Collector

The UV detector outputs a signal from 0-1V (though typical range of a fraction is 0-150mV). This signal was VERY noisy with around 40mV of high frequency noise on top of the real signal. A simple pi-filter between the DAQ and the UV detector killed almost all of this noise (other than a periodic oscilation with a frequency of less than 1 Hz.

The fraction collector has two pins on the back which short for 100ms each time it moves to a new tube. So I wrote a simple arduino program which alternates between logic LOW and HIGH each time a new tube is detected.

So in summary we have two inputs which must be overlayed. Initially Intially, I used the DAC assistant to input to a waveform graph and acheived this output:

Image1.PNG