LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Communication between PC and ATMEL micro controller using USB ports

Hi All

I am Using LV8.0 FDS and VISA 3.1
I am trying to communicate my PC with ATMEL microcontroller( just writing and reading string commands) similar to serial communication. For that i need to develop a USB driver in LV.

As i am new to USB communication , i have gone through the USB instrument control tutorial. i had few questions from it.
  1. How to know the class of the USb device(ATMEL microcontroller)?
  2. Any h/w or s/ w needed to be installed to perform usb communcation(i have already installed the drivers CD that come with FDS)?
  3. When to use USBRaw Bulk mode and When to use USBRaw Control mode?
  4. When to use VISA write/read vi's and when to use USB control in/out vi's?
  5. Also how to detect whether it is a USBTMC device or USB Raw device?

I am trying hard with these questions. but i didn't get the solution.

So plz suggest me with solutions .and attach examples if any which may clarify my doubts

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(10,998 Views)
Hi mudigondla,
Thank you for contacting National Instrument with your questions. I will do my very best to get you the information you need. You mentioned that you wished to develop a driver so that you can communicate with your USB micro-controller, are you familiar with the Driver Development Wizard that comes with NI-VISA 3.0 and higher. What it will do is create an .inf file that will allow you to use VISA commands to communicate with your device, in all essence it will act just like any other serial device. All this is explained and detailed in the USB Instrument Control Tutorial DevZone article. As for your individual questions:

1. The instrument is not a NI product, consulting the manual or contacting the manufacturer may be more fruitful. The following link may be able to help you in determining the class