From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Communicating via Ethernet with Eaton module

Hello all, I am new to the NI forums. I am using Labview with my company to try to read/write data from registers on an Eaton C441 with Ethernet module. The current setup I have is running power to the module itself and the Ethernet module, then running into an Ethernet switch, which I am connecting to my laptop via an Ethernet cable. I have put my laptop and the module on the same subnet, and am able to see the values on the registers via Eaton's proprietary website (putting the IP address into a web browser). So I am confident that my computer is able to communicate with the module.

My problem comes when trying to interface with Labview. I will be the first to admit that while I am slightly familiar with the software, I have never done anything in Labview utilitzing Ethernet. I will attach the simple program I am trying to get to work to this message. Basically, my understanding is that with the attached program, I need to put in the module's IP address, a timeout other than zero, and a remote port. I am unsure of the remote port, so I have been using 1. Also, for the "data in" field, I assumed I should use the PID numbers given by Eaton to read/write to the individual registers. I tried that, but every time it times out and gives me an error that it exceeded the program time. Does anyone have any advice or suggestions on what I can do to get this to work? Like I said, I am definitely not a Labview expert so I have no idea what I'm doing wrong, or if this program is written to do what I need it to do. Thank you for your help!