From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Communicate with network device via modbus tcp

Hi,

I'm new to both labVIEW and modbus protocol. I'm trying to make a VI to read data from an Inverter via modbus tcp protocol. I've downloaded the Modbus library and tried making a VI after studying some examples. Attached is a snapshot of the VI I Made.

I get an error  (ERROR 56) when I run this VI. This error is generated by "MB Ethernet master query Read.vi". 

I cannot figure out the what is the cause for the error. Please help me.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,817 Views)

Hi,

Maybe it helps if you use the 'Create ModBus instance' to initialize the connection.

I think you are using the wrong ModBus address. Your documentation probably says read at 40003 one register. This is a DCS like notation and not a ModBus notation. 40003 must be read as use command 4 to read address 0003. Probably the address start at 1 and the ModBus addressing start at zero.

Try it with ModBus address 2 where you filled in 40003

Kees

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,763 Views)

Thanks for your reply.

As you have suggested I tried with address 2 instead 40003. Still I get the same error. 

I also tried using Real-time module. Attached is the VI I made. Now I get the ERR (-389112): The Modbus slave does not accept the data address contained in the query.

I have also attached the documentation of the device. I'm trying to read the register with address 40004. Therefore I have set starting address to 3. Am I still confused with the addressing? I also tried with starting address 4, but that also does not work.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,757 Views)

I know the addressing notation is very confusing.