cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Comments on Code

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi guys,

I'm a 2 weeks of simple DAQ + 1 month forums self taught labview user and I'm working on a rather large control application.

Before I continue, I think I've produced a pretty large chunk of one of the components of my application - it is responsible for controlling the motors.

I want to make sure it's robust and uses good style.

Can anyone out there can quickly point out some stylistic errors? Don't waste your time on this if you're busy - just do it for fun. 

Notes:

--> The references come from 1 main VI file which uses CTR SET. 

--> I have used a VI template since I would like to call this function 4 times - for 4 different motors with a different Axis (or Address).

--> I'm still pretty confused about the events node - in that I can't seem to figure out a way to get an event to trigger when a reference value changes. Signalling triggers on every write - which is not my intended purpose.

--> Also, I haven't yet tested the queues, nor have I ever used queues before, labview help just got me through it. 

--> This is 1 VI that calls a few SUB Vi's, some of them extremely simple, others that are a few layers deep. All of the SUB Vis do not use references, events or anything of the sort, they are simple data flow and loops to iterate code in a structured maner (setting data up in a readable format, read write, etc etc)

I'm worried I just have bad style or am doing certain things that can cause fatal errors.

Thanks!

PS: I remember Altenbach giving me a bunch of tips earlier on my code - it really helped push me forward.

Top.pngMiddle.png

Bottom.png

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 42
(3,017 Views)

Forgot to mention: I hate labview clean up wiring... It has made my wiring extremely complicated to the point where I just spaced things out instead of cleaning up the wiring...

Random kinks...

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 42
(3,012 Views)