LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collect one sample at a time.

This seems like it ought to be incredibly simple, but I am brand new to labview...

I am acquiring data at a given rate (between 10 and 100 Hz) for the purpose of the read outs in my vi.

What I would like to do is set up the DAQ and the experiement and run it, monitoring at all times my critical variables on gauges, etc.  Then when I have reached the information I need, I would like to click and button and record a single sample.  I would even take just a few samples.

The way I have attempted to do this now is to briefly enable a relay between the signal source and the Write to Measurment File vi.   This kind of works, as long as my sampling rate is low.  With high sample rates (1000 Hz) I end up with a few thousand data points, when all I need is one.

Thus the question:  How do I take a snapshot of my data?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,098 Views)

Post your VI.  I don't understand what you mean by putting a "relay" between the signal source and a Write to measurement File.  A signal source is physical hardware, a Write to Measurement File is software.  How are you acquiring the data?  Is is coming in has a waveform datatype, an array, or the dreaded blue datatype wire?

Let's assume it is an array of multiple data points since you say you are doing 10-100 Hz.  Use index array function to get a single point out of the array.  Feed the value into a case structure that contains the Write File VI's.  The case structure would be controlled by a boolean button set to Latch action.  Now if you hit the button, it will take only a single point out of your array one time to send to Write to the file.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,083 Views)

Ravens Fan:

I think what they are referring to is that Express vi called Relay under the Express/Signal Manipulation pallette.

Edit: And yes, it comes with that dreaded blue wire type 😞 🙂

-AK2DM