LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cleaning up VI's.

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I'm relatively new and am learning through the school of hard knocks.... My background is using tools like Cadence for schematic capture and IC layout. There are a few things you can do in Cadence that I just can't seem to figure out how to do with Labview which I believe would make my VI's much cleaner and easier to follow once I figure out how to do them.

These are:

1. How do you resize and icon? I created an icon with 12 terminals. What a fugly mess once it's wired up. It would be nice if I could enlarge this and manually move the terminals to group them appropriately.

2. This is a corollary to my first question. How do you make virtual connection? IOW, if two signals are called the same thing they should be virtually connected. Therefore, there is no need to run a wire between them. In my current example, 11 of 12 inputs to the VI are top level controls the user of the VI will be selecting.

3. Or, what about making a bus? Then I could tie together similar wire types. In my current example, four of the twelve wires are GPIB addresses; data type wires. I could tie these together as a bus (e.g. GPIB(1-4)),  and make one terminal on the icon, and run them to where the user controls are and separate them back to their individual components there.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(4,414 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Mike_505