cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change displayed text based on threshold value

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi Labview users,

I need some help with displaying and changing text in labview.

The text should display and change according to the following conditions:

0 volts - "No power"

1 volt - "Controller ON"

2 volts - "Rotor Running"

3 volts - " Rotor stopped"

Based on the voltage read by the channel, the corresponding text should be displayed and changed on the same area of front panel. For example, at start it is gonna be 0 volts and the "No power" text should be displayed as a text indicator (and not as a warning message). It should change to "Controller ON" when the input voltage chages from 0 to 1 volt. The channel reads Analog Input Voltage (Range 0-5V).

I am fairly new to labview. So please give me pointers or suggestions on how this can be done. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Raj

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,033 Views)

Hi,

Do you have a proto VI you can post.  This is really a wide open question.

You could have the text in an array, and when you pass a threshold you read from the next index. 

You could use a text ring, and feed the rounded voltage as the value of the text ring.

Ultimately you have to decide what type of storage are you going to use for the text values.  Will these be hard coded or read from a file?

How will your VI update the GUI?  Will you use a state machine, an event structure, a simple while loop?

So, please post your VI or provide some more specific details, you will be able to get more replies.

-------
Mark Ramsdale
-------
Message 2 of 11
(4,031 Views)

Hi Mark,