From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot play WAV file in Labview 2013

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi LabView gurus

I am a novice with some minimal experience with Labview.

Quick Summary

As part of my experiment, I am trying to use Labview in exercise measurement device. I didnt haveany trouble with acquisition and display of  signal via NI USB 6008. However I have a requirement to play a WAV file (generated by MATLAB) to pace the people to a rythm and the playing fails with Error 4810 saying the format is unidentified. The WAV file (attached here- metronome.TXT - but extension .WAV changed to .TXT enable upload) plays in all other players. The previous posts have not addressed this issue sufficiently.

More details:

An exercise device measures the displacement reading from sensor in Volt and converts to distance by a calibration formula (simple y=mx+c). In the course of the 3 minutes the person exercises - That part in the attachedVI works beautifully. However a rythmic tick-tock sound has to play to pace him uniformaly. I created the WAV file from MATLAB sound functions and playing at 8KhZ (attached). But it didnt run no matter how many different ways I tried. Suggestions needed! 

I am running Windows 7 Enterprise, 2GB RAM, LABVIEW 2013

Any help/suggestion/improvement is appreciated. 

-SM

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,256 Views)

(Please next time attach a simplified example that only contains the code for playing of the soundfile.)

Here the sound file plays just fine. (LabVIEW 2014, WIndows 7)