cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot play WAV file in Labview 2013

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi LabView gurus

I am a novice with some minimal experience with Labview.

Quick Summary

As part of my experiment, I am trying to use Labview in exercise measurement device. I didnt haveany trouble with acquisition and display of  signal via NI USB 6008. However I have a requirement to play a WAV file (generated by MATLAB) to pace the people to a rythm and the playing fails with Error 4810 saying the format is unidentified. The WAV file (attached here- metronome.TXT - but extension .WAV changed to .TXT enable upload) plays in all other players. The previous posts have not addressed this issue sufficiently.

More details:

An exercise device measures the displacement reading from sensor in Volt and converts to distance by a calibration formula (simple y=mx+c). In the course of the 3 minutes the person exercises - That part in the attachedVI works beautifully. However a rythmic tick-tock sound has to play to pace him uniformaly. I created the WAV file from MATLAB sound functions and playing at 8KhZ (attached). But it didnt run no matter how many different ways I tried. Suggestions needed! 

I am running Windows 7 Enterprise, 2GB RAM, LABVIEW 2013

Any help/suggestion/improvement is appreciated. 

-SM

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,261 Views)

(Please next time attach a simplified example that only contains the code for playing of the soundfile.)

Here the sound file plays just fine. (LabVIEW 2014, WIndows 7)

Your code is a bit weird. What is the loop rate? (Sorry, I don't have DAQ here, so I cannot look at your express VIs. Your sound file is quite long so it is not quite clear to me why you are trying to play it in a loop. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(5,236 Views)

The acquisiiton goes on until I hit the stop-push-button. The DAQ acquisition is configured at 10Khz in continous acquire mode.