From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't add network devices in NI MAX

Hello everyone,

I am very new to LabVIEW and I am having a problem I can't solve on my own. I am trying to connect to a device via TCP/IP. Right now, it is just a printer hooked up the company network to test how this works (we'll get an upgrade for manufacturing equipment quite soon and I don't want to completly embarass myself when the technicians come here Smiley Wink). 

However, when I open NI MAX and right-click on "Devices and Interfaces" the "Create new" prompt doesn't appear. I feel kind of stupid to ask this question, but does anyone know how to solve this problem?

Thank you!

Qbach

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(10,026 Views)

You don't need to add them.

Networking is done on any available device - you generally don't specify a network interface when listening/opening/reading/writing to/from the network and the OS deals with which networking adapter actually transmits/receives the data.

You just specify a target IP address and the OS/Network will find a route to it if it can on any available adapter (e.g. Ethernet/Wifi etc.).

LabVIEW Champion, CLA, CLED, CTD
(blog)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(10,019 Views)
Sam,

That's not true for certain Ethernet instruments. You very often have to use the Create New>TCP/IP Instruments to use VISA just like you might have to create new simulated DAQmx devices. Not having any options is actually a problem.

Qbach,

What drivers do you have installed? Do you have NI-VISA? This would be a separate install from LabVIEW.
Message 3 of 10
(10,010 Views)