From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I use LabView to implement an array of microphones for localization of sound?

Hi,

I am new to LabVIEW.

Can anybody please explain me if I could implement an array of microphones for localization of sound?

If yes, how can I do it?

thanks in advance ! 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 24
(5,323 Views)

This i certainly doable in LabVIEW.

Do you have problems with the hardware setup or with the algorithm? Both seems relatively simple. Are you looking for a 2D or 3D localization?

How many microphones do you have? How are they arranged? What kind of DAQ hardware? What kind of sound? What precision do you need?

Are you looking to build something like this?

Message Edited by altenbach on 09-10-2009 06:57 PM
Message 2 of 24
(5,315 Views)
And for a system that has been done, see here.
Message 3 of 24
(5,303 Views)
These guys did something similar, using accelerometers to triangulate the impact point of a bullet in a piece of drywall.  You can review their code and see the magnitude of the problem you're working on.
Jim
You're entirely bonkers. But I'll tell you a secret. All the best people are. ~ Alice
For he does not know what will happen; So who can tell him when it will occur? Eccl. 8:7

Message 4 of 24
(5,260 Views)

I need help with both hardware as well as software.

I am not sure if it is 2D or 3D localozation. But my guess would be 2D since I do not plan to localize sound that is coming from above the head.

I am planning to get 4 microphones and arrange them in a circular fashion. I have a virtex-5 FPGA which I think might help.

My implementation would be like something for a robot. It should detect any kind of sound that is useful to the human ear.