LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I (and if so, how would I) connect two encoders (one linear and one angular) to the same chassis (NI 9401) and get their respective NI MAX tasks to run as simultaneously as possible?

Solved!
Go to solution

Sorry, but I am still rather new to LabVIEW and NI MAX. I connected both devices (a linear probe and an angular encoder) to my NI 9401 chassis. I figured out how to create tasks for each and get continous samples readings from each. When trying to run both in LabVIEW, I get the error saying that I cannot run multiple tasks at once. It suggests the Control Task VI, but I did not see any help in that. Any advice?

Here is some general information, whatever it is worth: Both encoders are operating off of the same clock source, PFI4, which to my knowledge corresponds to CTR 1 A, where the angular encoder's A signal is wired in. The linear's physical channel is ctr0 and the angular's is ctr1.

Thank you very much for taking the time to look at this and help me out!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(4,039 Views)

1. Keep your subject line short:  making readings on CompactDAQ 9410

2. NI 9401 is not a "chassis". It is a NI CompactDAQ DIO module

3. There are examples that are installed when you install NI-DAQmx.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(4,026 Views)

Ohhh so the 9181 is the chassis, right? My bad. Sorry about the subject line. And there are examples that covered this?

Edit: I think I found the examples by searching through the folder... but I cannot figure out how to open the files (wow, what a n00b I am)!

I guess the question currently boils down to this? Can I read from a linear and angular encoder simultaneously within the same task?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(4,019 Views)

@JosephQ wrote:

Can I read from a linear and angular encoder simultaneously within the same task?

Yes.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 15
(4,006 Views)

Thank you. So now the question would be: How?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 15