From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Camera Tracking the brighest spot.

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everybody,

I am a self-taught LabVIEW user. I am working on a project on free space optics communication with a moving target that I have to track and aim at. I was thinking about using an usb camera to image a bright LED on the target and just get the x y position of the brightest point in the image to keep the feedback loop as fast as possible. I don't know how to get from the usb camera to the xy coordinates using Vision. Could you point me in the right direction?

Notes: The led could saturate more than one pixel i am fine averaging the position of the array of max coordinates or just getting the center wichever is faster.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,844 Views)

You have posted no code, which makes it difficult for us to guess (a) your level of knowledge/sophistication or (b) the version of LabVIEW you are using.

Have you checked the examples that come with LabVIEW?  Have you looked at "Particle Analysis Report.vi"?

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,824 Views)

I have posted no code because I am starting to write it now. (a) I have gone through the core 2 course (maybe I am a bit rusty but I understood everything in that module). (b) I am using LabVIEW 2016 32 bit on windows 7.
I had a look at the "Particle Analysis Report.vi" and I can reverse engineer it but the threshold is not exactly what I was looking for: I do not know in advance what will be the RGB level at which to cut, It may work if I can first analyse the image get the maximum value and put a threshold at 0.95 the maximum.