LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Button as a switch with logic gates.

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I am a student using LabVIEW 2012 as an FRC competitor, and I have a request/question for anybody willing.

I cannot find a non-buggy solution to getting a button to work exactly like a switch. Either the solution is laggy, or doesn't connect.

I tried D-type Flip Flop's of many kinds, and !Q cannot connect to D in LabVIEW (LabVIEW pulls up "More than one data source" errors, so a lot of logic functions that are available with other solutions, don't work on LabVIEW)

NAND gate-types were tried aswell, no dice.

So if anybody would like to help me, this is what I am looking for:

When button is clicked, it sends out a constant true function until the button is clicked again.

-I can't use anything that messes with functions if the button is held.

-I just need a basic on/off switch, nothing that goes "around" what is currently available and makes a buggy solution. There should be some sort of correct way to do this.

-An attachment of a VI would be nice, and what goes where.

Thank you 🙂

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 24
(5,132 Views)

You will need to store the value you need and simply negate it when you detect the button has been pressed.

Mark Yedinak
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"Does anyone know where the love of God goes when the waves turn the minutes to hours?"
Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald - Gordon Lightfoot
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 24
(5,126 Views)

So how do I store that value? I thought Arrays did that, but I couldn't figure out exactly how to do it.

Sorry, still learning my way around what nodes do what.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 24
(5,124 Views)

I would need to see you code . There are several methods to store the value. The easiest is to use a shift register (or a feed back node if you don't have a loop). That will retain the last value you insert into it.

Mark Yedinak
LabVIEW Champion