From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building a switch with a flashing pause indicator

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi I am new to LabView and coding so feel I am struggling with some of the basics. I am currently working through the Core 2 course online but am also having a go at writing my own applications.

I am trying to write an application based on the stopwatch example included in Core 1 however I would like the paused LED turned into a run indicator with the following attributes:

1, When the stopwatch is at 0.0 and stopped the LED to be off.

2, When the stopwatch is running the LED is solid on.

3, When the stopwatch is paused the LED flashes on and off.

Suffice to say I have implemented many iterations of the programme to achieve this goal but cannot get the timing to work reliably.

Any help would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,507 Views)

Suppose you had a While loop with nothing inside it (aside from a Stop button wired to the Stop Indicator) except for a Wait with 500 wired to it.  What would happen?  What if you had a Shift Register with a Boolean "True" wired (from the outside) to the input of this Shift Register, and inside wired to a Boolean LED Indicator?  What if you put a "Not" function on that Boolean wire inside the While loop?  What would you do to the Boolean wire to make the LED turn off and stay off?

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,467 Views)

Hi Bob,