From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Binning in FPGA - parallel loops

Dear all,

I am rather new to FPGA and face a problem:

I want to measure analog voltages and a digital frequency at a certain rate, and pass it to a FIFO for further processing.

Analog input at a certain rate: no problem, each iteration at that certain loop rate I read one sample.

Now the problem:

To measure an digital frequency (from an encoder), I want to measure the the period (I found examples here) of the signal at the fastest rate possible, buffer the data, and in the same frequency as the analog input, I want to average the buffered frequency data, and add it to the data array to be passed in the FIFO. So that my analog measurements and frequencys are (more or less) syncron.

Can anyone help how to do this?

First approach is do have 2 loops at different rates, one for analog signals and passing it to FIFO , the other one at the 40 MHz rate calculating the periods each iteration. My idea was to buffer the data from the fast loop, pass it to the slow where an average is calculated each iteration of the buffered data.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,389 Views)

I would do the averaging inside the fast loop. Calculate how many fast loop cycles per cycle of the "slow" loop (if not an exact multiple there are some simple workarounds). Keep a running sum of the measurements in the fast loop, and every n cycles (however many is one slow loop) you divide that sum by n, put the result into a FIFO, zero the sum, and repeat.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,379 Views)

I think I understand what you're doing and I think I've done something similar in the past.