LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Binary number display format

Hi everybody, I am a student, now I faced a problem, I convert one decimal number to a binary number, but I want the result is always 8 bits. For example, I convert decimal no.7 into binary no. Is 111, I want the format is 00000111. And the result can display by using LED(if the digit is "1" LED light up)Is it possible? Hope can get solution, Thanks a lot.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,440 Views)
Hello Kuroro,
Try the following:
Hope it helps,
Paulo
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,427 Views)
thanks PauloM. my LabVIEW Version is 7.0 your program code is 7.1.1, I can't open it, it display LabVIEW load error code 9; still thanks for helping.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,422 Views)
Try it now...
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(3,419 Views)
For the first problem, just create a U8 indicator. Then right-click..."format&precision" and select "binary, 8 wide, pad with zeroes".
For the second problem use "number to boolean array". Invert array as needed depending how you want to look at it.

See atttached.
Message 5 of 8
(3,414 Views)
Give this one a try, its a little simplier and keeps the values in numerical format.
Message 6 of 8
(3,409 Views)
Whoops altenbach beat me but with the same concept on the numerical display, just pad with 0's on left. Sorry I didnt describe it more I had someone here waiting on me to try something. The boolean array is problably a better choice because if needed you can always index the array to get a specific bit which was the main reason I used a cluster (it leaves those bits for you to easily access) but I dont know which uses more resources. At least you have a few alternatives now. Best of luck.
0 Kudos
Message 7 of 8
(3,401 Views)
Thanks for helping me. the solution is perfectly done. I learn a lot from it.