cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to structure code to control multiple instruments

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I'm a somewhat novice but not inexperienced labview programmer. I'm in the process of writing a labview code to control an optical physics experiement. This involves writing a GUI which then interfaces with a variety of instruments (such as motorized stages, lock-in amplifiers, power supplies, DAQs, etc...) all connected through various means to the computer. All of the instruments ship with their own labview drivers for carrying out their most important functions. For the most part, the instruments will be operated independently but occasionally, a set of steps involving multiple instruments will be done (such as move, take a measurment, move again, ...)

My question is what is the best way to structure the top-level VI where all the GUI controls are located? I currently have the code structured so that every instrument has an associated event structure which handles button presses and controls for it. Simple events such as movement are handled in the event structures themselves while queues and occurences are then used to handle more complicated events in external loops. Is this an appropriate way to handle this scenario or is there a more commonly used architecture?

Thank you for the help

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,556 Views)
Solution
Accepted by DaveMiller3