cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best practice FPGA<->RT->Host Communication

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am still rather new to Labview and I have to implement a real-time control and logging application.

I am confused about the different ways to communicate data between the three execution levels and would like an experienced advice on this.
I need the following:
FPGA:

1a) Record analog data with some kHz resolution (2 channels)

1b) an edge (frequency) counter for one of those channels

1c) send this data to RT and Host

1d) Control 1 analog output

RT:

2a) read data from FPGA

2b) PID control using the FPGA data

2c) send results from PID to the analog output mentioned above (1d)

Host:

3a) Read and log the recorded data from RT,

3b) Manage PID controls

3c) Display the running processes

I know this is a classic example and I should be able to extract this from existing examples, but given my small experience and the complexity of the project and the quantity of different examples, I am confused about the best practice solution.

I have tried to implement DMA FIFOs, but I have to read them at both host and RT if i write them on the FPGA, so would I have to implement two, one from FPGA to RT and one RT to Host? Should I implement one for each data channel or one with a data cluster?
Id be gratefull for a recommendation of a communication protocol or even a corresponding example project.

Many thanks and regards,

Robin

P.S.: I am running Labview 2013SP1 with a cRIO9074

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,728 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Rengel

well I'll try to take a whack at least at a couple of questions.  For the DMA FIFO, I would just implement the FPGA to RT host DMA FIFO. For getting that data from RT  to your host (I assume the PC where you have the GUI program running) you could use a network stream which is basically designed for that sort of thing, streaming data over Ethernet.