cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginner question re: case structures

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I apologize if this post is in the wrong place. I am a student learning Labview as part of my pursuit of an EET degree. I have to design a soda machine as a project for my Labview class. I am researching how to start the prgramming (I am overwhelmed) and am trying to learn about case, and event structures. My professor gave us the task of designing the machine, with no further instructions or guidance. I have been scouring the internet for examples of code, but really haven't found anything I can use to understand how to prgram this machine.

My question is, when using a case structure, does it always have to be initialized? Can I write the structure to just wait for the user to start entering money, as you would in the real world? All of the tutorials I am watching show an initialize case as part of the prgramming. If I use event structures, inside of a while loop, will this more realistically model a mchine found in the real world?

I have been trying to get started on this project for a couple of weeks, and am really confused, so I appreciate any and all help / advice.

Thanks very much,

George

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 37
(4,047 Views)

Hey George,

Along with looking through the basic labview tutorials, a lot of it is can be learned by trying and failing. In this case though, you're looking for a state machine where it initializes to a "default" state, which there is an example of here: http://www.ni.com/tutorial/7595/en/

Hope this is helpful in explaining your task,

Anthony

Message 2 of 37
(4,041 Views)

Hi Anthony,

Thanks very much for your reply. The page you linked is very helpful. I am still confused as to whether I should be using this version of the state machine, as oppsed to using event structures, which I understand use less CPU, and is a more streamlined way of programming the machine.