LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginner: help debugging LabVIEW program for TDK-Lambda power supply

Hello,

I am interning at a company and am working on a project to program a TDK-Lambda power supply (Genesys modle 20-76). I inherited some code from one of the engineers in the company that was meant to accomplish the task but did not work for some reason. I am not too experienced with LabVIEW and was hoping I could get some help debugging the [attached] code. 

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(4,322 Views)

Did you check to make sure it is the correct COM port on your computer? If it worked on his computer that is where I would start.

Tim
GHSP
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(4,317 Views)

from my understanding, it did not work on his computer, either

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(4,315 Views)

You really should be using some of the lower level VIs in that driver.  The example VI you are using resets the power supply each time it is called.  Instruments typically do not like that.  So perhaps you should start by stating what your actual requirements are and then we can help guide you from there.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 14
(4,299 Views)

The power supply will be used to bias test boards for weekly runs. The tests usually run for 48 or 96 hours.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 14
(4,268 Views)

I've used that same power supply before.  There's a few things that can trip you up while using it.

Check the following things:

1. You are using Serial, not GPIB, and you're plugged into the correct port on your PC.  

2. You're using the serial cable provided by the manufacturer.  Any off-the-shelf DB9 to RJ45 connector probably has the wrong pinout.