From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automing instruments in LabVIEW without using specific drivers and coding for each instrument?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to programming in labVIEW, but I had a couple of questions about its use in automating and remote controlling multiple instruments.

Is it an ideal software for remote controlling/test automation of various instruments. Supposing I have multiple spectrum analyzers from various companies I understand that labVIEW has instrument drivers or special VI's that would control these instruments. But if I wanted all these spectrum analyzers to say, display to a different computer using remote control, but I wanted to use the same program for effeciency, is there a way of doing that universally for all instruments using labVIEW? Or do I have to tailor that program for each instrument cause of the instrument drivers?

If labVIEW cannot do that, has anyone had good success for these kinds of scenarios in other programming languages?

Thanks in advance for your help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,246 Views)

Well the more "universal" you try to make a program to work on multiple instruments the more complex it becomes. 

I once created a program for our test stations that all contain various manufacturers AC and DC sources, AC and DC loads, and five different models of power analyzers.

So my program had to contain the VI's (drivers) for every possible instrument that could be in a test rack, and be easily comfigured to select the proper code for the proper instruments. 

I used an XML file to store the test rack configuration and the program would read this and use that to select the proper code to use when running.

Config.PNG