LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Assynchronous call and forget Vs Run Vi with auto disconnect

Hi,

I have been working on a project where I have several different GUI windows that are supposed to run all at the same time - along with some 'engine' vis that should run in the background.  Obviously there is a question of how to initiate these runs - and since i started learning labview a few years ago (i think before they were able to do assyc calls properly(?)) I have mostly used run vi with auto disconnect - which gives you a top level vi, which you can of course hide - or make visible - for the two different behaviours. 

I put together some libraries that use the scripting side of labview to check when things are runninng - and whether they are 'top level' or not which are useful for debugging - and for telling whether certain engines are runnning before i communicate with them.

It works quite well for the front panel case - but for background engines one obvious disadvantage is that you end up not being able to pass inputs to the vi in this case - which is a bummer - and to work around it you end up with tones of global variables which need to be set before the vi is run - and you need to have some way of it knowing 'how' it is being started etc.

Then "assynchrourous call and forget" sounds like it should allow easy passing of variables - but I've found that it acts quite differently to run and disconnect....(unless i'm mistaken). 

Basically because you have to have a strictly typed reference to start them off, it seems as far as labview is concerned, the vi that you are runnig assynchronously is 'running' as soon as the top level vi which is running it is running.  - So if you wanted to communicate with it then there would be no way of knowing whether it was ACTUALLY RUNNING, or simply waiting for the assync node to come up - or if it had finished running assynchronously, and was waiting for the top level VI to stop.