LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Analyze myRIO Audio Input to Identify Material

Hello all,

I'm a college student working on an engineering project that implements labview. My team's project is meant to sort plastic, aluminum and glass bottles. It differentiates between bottles by acquiring sound data. Basically, we drop the bottles through a chute, and record the sound at the bottom with a microphone.

Generally speaking, our approach is:

1. Constantly record audio from a microphone, which will periodically pick up sound spikes from the bottles hitting a surface
  2. Use this input to pull out a frequency, and identify the material
  3. Activate actuators to sort the bottles according to material designation

As of now, we are having trouble with step 2. We attempted to make a VI to analyze our sound data with the attached "sound-spectrum.vi". However, we need to implement our system with the myRIO-1900. So, we created a myRIO VI ("soundVI.vi") that is also attached.

We are having trouble getting useful or consistent data, so we are hoping to get any feedback on our code, or alternative methods to analyze our sound data.

Thanks!

Darren

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,585 Views)

I'm uncertain whether your difficulty lies with LabVIEW, with myRIO, or with acquiring and processing Sound Data.  So I'll discuss each of these ...

• Seeing Express VIs always worries me, as it suggests that you are taking the "canned" (or Over-simplified, Limited Option) route to Data Acquisition and Control.  Have you ever learned about DAQmx?  Have you used MAX to "test out" your Data Acquisition System?  Have you built a Task in MAX and run that task from within MAX?  And if the answer to all the preceding questions is "Yes", then have you ever tried stringing DAQmx Start Task, DAQmx Read, and DAQmx Stop Task (or Clear Task) together with your MAX Task as the Task Input and seen how easy DAQmx makes taking data?